OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY ALLEN DARLING Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

May 4, 2015

The Honorable Tony Mendoza State Capitol, Room 5061 Sacramento, CA 95814

SB 505 (MENDOZA) -SUPPORT

Dear Senator Mendoza:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials is pleased to advise you of our support for SB 505, which recognizes the need and permits the Secretary of State to clarify and revise the California Voters' Bill of Rights. An understanding of these rights by all citizens is fundamental to a working and healthy democracy. The legalese in which they are currently written makes it difficult for many to understand and does little to promote participation.

We thank you for this Plain Language initiative as we are very supportive of any efforts to move towards Plain Language in election materials generally and for its use in clarifying the Voters' Bill of Rights specifically.

We urge passage of SB 505. If you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Monoface

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Senator Allen, Chair, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee

Darren Chesin, Chief Consultant, Senate Elections and C.A. Committee

Cory Botts, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee

Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee